Alquerías del Niño Perdido / Les Alqueries

The history of the municipality of Alqueries del Niño Perdido in its current form begins in 1985, when it splits off from the neighbouring municipality of Vila-real, although its real roots lie in a group of farm houses scattered across the agricultural land on the plain, which came together to form the present-day centre. We find Iberian remains in la Torrasa, a Roman bridge over the river Sec and a number of Islamic remains. The town takes its name from the statuette of Nuestra Señora del Niño Perdido (Our Lady of the Lost Child), that a group of friars placed in the chapel of a farm house in the Bon Retorn area in the year 1683.


Les Alqueries's economy is dominated by industry and agriculture, especially the processing and sale of citrus fruits.

What to see

A stroll through the streets of the town takes us past interesting Modernist-style buildings, in a town that is intense and vibrant.


Alqueria's landscape is completely flat and is totally dominated by orange groves, aside from several farm and country houses.